How much light do we really reflect?

I was listening to one of my favorite pastors a couple days ago and he said something that has really stuck with me. I know I have heard him say it before,but this time it is really bouncing around inside my brain. He was talking about all of the darkness in the world. All of the things that just don’t make a lot of sense. Many of my friends who don’t believe in Christ are always asking me how a God like the one I worship can allow so much darkness in the world. And to be honest, that’s a question I throw out to myself a lot of times. There has always been these deep theological answers about how the fall of man leads to so and so……. But this pastor brings up this point. What if the darkness, even though is still dark, is not the main problem. What if the problem is that the light just isn’t bright enough? That, for some reason, really got me thinking. What if we sell our potential that God gives us really short. What if we are, for a lack of a better word, really lazy. We want salvation, we want redemption, we claim we want restoration, but we don’t want to have anything to do with the restoration process? Jesus said that people will know we are his followers by the way we treat others. Perhaps people will know we are his followers by how much light we reflect. How much light we bring into the world. I drove past a church on the way to work this morning thatis always changing their signs. Those things make me sick most of the time, with their stupid corny sayings that really don’t make any sense. Ususally talking about man plus woman equals marriage, or whatever topic is hot that week. Anyways this morning it said ,Jesus came to bring light to a dark world. Maybe it should have read Jesus came, was beaten and killed, so that we could have the strength and the power to bring light to a dark world.

Shalom.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

