Diving into the New again…….

So I have decided to recommit myself to really diving into the scriptures again. And this time I have decided to go through the New Testament again. So last night I began Matthew. I read the first three chapters and one new thing stuck out to me.  Why is it that since the birth of Christ violence has not followed far behind. I mean starting with the birth of Jesus thousands of babies were killed. I don’t know why it sticks out, it just does. But it also seems to be a theme that runs parallel to his life. He even says you have to give up your life, (literally or figuratively) to follow him. There is a line in the Dave Matthews Band Christmas Song that says, ” I came to spread a little light on this darkening sea, but instead I fear I have spilled the blood of my children all around.” Now I know these are Dave’s words and not Christ, but they do seem to ring true. From day one there has been a lot of killing surrounding Jesus. And there still is. Not as much in america, but there seems to be quite a bit in other places. Just a thought.

1 Comment

  1. P.D. You have given me some great ideas from this blog posting to get deep into the scriptures again, myself. Thanks for the picker upper post!


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

